Faux Guacamole

This idea is so simple, it’s almost silly to even post here, but I tell you it’s been so meal-altering in our house I just have to share.  We’re big on Mexican food at our house — quesadillas are on the menu weekly (at minimum).  Pre-kid(s), I used to mash up avocados, squeeze fresh lime juice, finely chop onion, cilantro, tomatoes… Yeah.  No time for that.  I need a easy, fast and delicious meal.  But we really missed some guac.  So I would still purchase avocados, with the hope that I would magically find time to prepare them. When that didn’t happen, they would either go bad, or I would simply slice them up and throw them on top of our quesadillas/tacos/etc.  Delicious, yes, but lacking.

Enter, the faux guacamole.  To my sliced avocados:I added a few scoops of salsa (our favorite at the moment is Trader Jose’s chunky salsa, mild), a few squirts of lime juice from the plastic lime (yes,  like this one), a few shakes of salt and pepper, and a sprinkle of cumin. Mix.And voila!  It was fantastic.  Like, really, really good. Maybe I’m easily impressed, or I am just used to regular old avocado slices, but I am hard pressed to imagine that I’ll be doing all that dicing anytime soon.

That’s it! Insta-guacamole.  It’s perfect amount for 2 adults and 1 toddler.  I’d be curious to expand the recipe for a larger group – so if/when I do that, I’ll update.  Now go!  Get some chips!

Leave a Reply

